NCC Library: Reference Works: Social Science

Sociology

Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice by Margaret E. Beare (Editor)
Available in EBSCO eBooks
Collins Dictionary of Sociology
Available in Credo Reference
Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia
Available in Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Available in Credo Reference
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Available in Credo Reference

Psychology

APA Dictionary of Psychology
With over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology.
Psychology and Mental Health
Call Number: REF BF636 .P86 2015
Available in print and online at Salem Health
Psychology & Behavioral Health
Call Number: REF BF636 .P86 2015
Available in print and online at Salem Health
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by Noel Sheehy, Antony J. Chapman, and Wendy Conroy
Available in Credo Reference
Cambridge Handbook of Computational Psychology by Ron Sun
Available in Credo Reference
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour by Alan Lewis
Available in Credo Reference
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Available in Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Abnormal Psychology by Aleksei Maksimov
This book presents current research in the field of abnormal psychology. Topics discussed include self-harm in adolescence and young adulthood; depression and a parenting intervention; a hermeneutic approach to culture and psychotherapy; psychotic symptoms in children and adolescents; treatment approaches to aggressive behavior in schizophrenia; fetal origins of antisocial personality disorder; neurobiology of borderline personality disorder; patterns of interpersonal behaviors and borderline personality characteristics; the psychology of body image and borderline personality and sexual impulsivity.

Anthropology

Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Deborah M. Pearsall
Available in Credo Reference
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Available in Credo Reference
The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
Available in Credo Reference